2016 has been a golden year for the creative fields
2016 was a world turned upside down. It was a year full of economic and cultural upheavals, when nothing seemed right. At the same time, good news continued to emerge that strengthened our faith in humanity and smart design. Over the past 12 months creative minds have responded with swiftness and diligence to the issues of our time, suggesting new and crucial perspectives on the quotidian.

Backstage Selection Process
From backstage to centerstage, THE DESIGN PRIZE crowdsources its longlist of over 750 nominees by consulting an international network of more than 150 creative professionals. Experts in their respective fields, these voices combine to create an essential litmus test of the industry at large by composing a 'who's who' list of the world of design.

Expert Jury Panel
There is a huge amount of variability between the nominated subjects and it is a difficult task for a jury to select which creative processes have most influenced the international design field in the last 12 months. We would like to thank the distinguished members of the THE DESIGN PRIZE jury 2017 for pinpointing the architects, artists, engineers, designers, and curators... for their creative approaches that have been most successful in identifying shortcomings, in generating solutions ...and in picking a good one.

What's next?
That's the type of design award program we're interested in, and everything will be better next year! In addition to a growing number of nominations from a broader scientific committee, we will expand the expert jury board and we are planning for popular vote too. We welcome your ideas, as we understand that THE DESIGN PRIZE begins from the ground up. It is the diverse voices of our community who continue to provide us with ideas and perspectives. contact(at)designboom.com

Thank you Edison for being a perfect partner and making THE DESIGN PRIZE an energetic success!


The jury is composed of internal or external examiners

International Board:

  • Alexandra Cunningham Cameron, design curator, Design District Miami (USA)
  • Ingeborg de Roode, industrial design curator, Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (NL)
  • Maria Cristina Didero, independent design curator (ITALY)
  • Antón García-Abril + Débora Mesa of Ensamble Studio, land art/architecture (SPAIN)
  • Ma Yansong, MAD Architects (China)
  • Jeffrey Schnapp, founder and director metaLAB Harvard (USA)



An international network of over 150 highly acclaimed professionals presented a *longlist* of over 750 nominations, distributed across the ten award categories. The creative backstage includes designers, journalists, curators, critics, teachers and institutional figures from all over the world. Among them ...

  • Ilaria Bonacossa // Artissima
  • Baranowitz Kronenberg, architects
  • Barber & Osgerby, designers
  • Sam Baron // Fabrica
  • Fernando & Humberto Campana, designers
  • Cristina Celestino, designer 
  • Claesson Koivisto Rune, architects
  • Matali Crasset, designer
  • Alexis Georgacopoulos // university ECAL
  • Guta Moura Guedes // ExperimentaDesign
  • Massimiliando and Dorians Fuksas, architects
  • Ron Gilad, designer
  • Charley Vezza // Gufram
  • Richard Hutten, designer
  • Deniz Ova + Bahar Turkay // Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts
  • Marcio Kogan, studio mk27, architects
  • Jin Kuramoto, designer
  • Ferruccio Laviani, designer
  • Daniel Libeskind, architect
  • Andrea Maffei, architect
  • Pierluigi Masini, Journalist History of Art 
  • Alberto Meda, designer
  • Emilio Cabrero // Mexico Design Week
  • Jasper Morrison, designer
  • Luca Cipelletti, architect and museum designer
  • Jo Nagasaka, architect
  • Luca Nichetto, designer
  • Nina Yashar // Galleria Nilufar (Milano)
  • Massimo Torrigiani // PAC (Milano)
  • Palomba Serafini, designers
  • Pearson&Lloyd, designers
  • Carlo Ratti, MIT Senseable City Lab
  • Mara Servetto, architect
  • Matteo Thun, architect
  • Lise Coirier // TLmagazine
  • Michael Young, designer